Cultural-historic landmarks of the area
Visitors interested in history cannot pass the churches in the area without stopping and paying attention to their splendid architecture. Besides the tall tower of the Evangelical-Lutheran church, the tower of the St Prophet Elijah Orthodox church reaches for the heavens above. In Lieksa church park there is Finland's oldest Orthodox chapel, Chapel of the Transfiguration of Christ, built in 1769. Other churches and chapels in the area are in Koli, Nurmijärvi, Viekijärvi and Vuonisjärvi.
The rich history of Lieksa Church
The current Evangelical-Lutheran church building in Lieksa in the fourth in the area. The first church, built in 1667 was torn down, the second, completed in 1772 was destroyed by a lightning, and the third, designed by Carl Ludvig Engel in 1836 burnt down in a fire in 1979. The current modern church, designed by architects Raili and Reima Pietilä, was competed in 1982.
The church in Viekijärvi was inaugurated in 1911. A special feature in this church with gothic features are rustic log walls, high windows and original ovens which were used to heat up the church in the old days. The two steel church bells were produced in Bochum in 1910.
The parish hall of Jongunjoki in Nurmijärvi was designed by architect Rafael Blomsted. The building was delayed by was and the parish hall was inaugurated on 18th July 1948. A special feature in the hall are square pine veneer panels. The bell tower and cemetery chape were built in 1956.
Paateri Church, designed and built by sculptress Eva Ryynänen (1915–2001) in a marvellous piece of art in Vuonisjärvi village. The church can be reserved for various events in summer time.
Part of the Orthodox parish of Joensuu, the Church of St Prophet Elijah is in a central place in Lieksa town centre.
Chapel of the Transfiguration of Christ, completed in 1769, is in Lieksa chuch park in a beautiful natural setting.
The Chapel of Dormition of the Theotokos is in the charming village of Vuonisjärvi. is also part of the Orthodox parish of Joensuu.
Kannelkoskentie 10, 81860 Viekijärvi